Class rules etc.

Whitewave

I'm new to this forum, but not to Maricats. An excellent venue to have your say. That's what I intend to do here. At the 30th anniversary, Mick, you asked for my input to a couple of topics. As an intro, I've been racing Maricats since 1979 with National and State titles in sloop rig as well as a state title in Windrush sloop. I race at Port Kembla Sailing Club on Lake Illawarra. I raced cat rigged for many years against competitors I regard very highly, like Pete and Steve, Mick, John and others. I have been sailing sloop with each of my three kids for the last 15yrs or so. They are now 24, 22 & 20. Still sailing sloop with my daughter, and enjoying this ONE DESIGN CLASS. This brings me to my comments. The Maricat association committee has always had the interest of its members as its number one priority. To achieve this, it has always been controlled ONLY by its members. During my sailing life I have seen classes irreparably fragmented or made extinct by the introduction of exotic or different (read expensive) materials, build spec's and modified classes. I have recently seen the introduction of the foam sandwich hulls (Wayne's). I was initially concerned about the effect this would have on the class, and wondered why the association allowed this to happen. I hope it wasn't simply a matter of "if no-one protested, then it is allowed". I am still not convinced we now don't have two competitively different boats. However, making a proportionate increase to the minimum skipper weight goes some way to addressing this discrepancy. If nothing else, it allows, attracts the heavier sailors to be competitive. To that end, I would prefer to see the same proportionate increase in minimum weight for foam boats, across all classes, not just cat rigged. 20Kg is still 20Kg on a sloop or SS boat. As far as sails go, let's not play around with technical terms. If it looks different to what we have always known to be DACRON, whatever chemical it is deri