Windrush Surfcat 14 Tramp Repair & Jib Replacement

Will_ACT

I'm a novice sailor, live in Canberra and have owned (& enjoyed sailing) my 14 foot Windrush cat since buying it 3 years ago. Trouble is, the Trampoline needs restitching and the Jib now needs replacing as well. Could I please have some advice on where to go to get these issues rectified? Am I better to simply replace the Tramp, instead of restitching it? Can you buy replacement sails & tramps ‘ready to go’ or do you have to get them made up? It’s an all white ‘Surfcat 14’ but I don’t know how to tell how old it is? I imagine it's a Mk1, from what I (quickly) read on this website. I have uploaded a photo of it.

Will

Canberra

Hi , yes your boat is a mark 1 boat (still looks in good nick) . I like the pic of 3 blokes all busy getting it rigged !

Windrush Yachts still sell all the parts for the WW14 . see their web site www.windrushyachts.com.au

They list a trampoline as $341 (+ gst) & you would also need about 10 of the mat hooks @ $1-95 ea. + freight.

So with that in mind it may be worth taking the tramp off & going in to your local canvas maker & getting a quote for them to do a bit of restiching , normally gets a few more years out of a worn tramp (as long as the material isn't rotting)

Sails , again you can get direct from windrush but a new mylar batterned jib is over $600 , so depends how worn out your old one is - normally the older dacron sails keep going for ages.

There may be sailmakers over east who could knock you up a new one - if you only wanted the soft dacron like what you have then they ought to be able to so one for about $300-$400 (at a guess) - they normally like the old sail to take a pattern off.

The batterned jibs are slightly larger than the original dacron jibs like yours & improve the boats performance.

Also keep an eye out on ebay & the like as sometimes 2nd hand gear comes up.

Good luck - make sure you get all this winter maint done to keep the boat on the water !!!