4.9 rudder set up

I've just bought myself a older 4.9. When i was rigging the rudders up on the trailer, it looks like the they tuck under the the stern way to much.. I was wondering if anyone had any specs on how far under they should go and how to set it all out..

Regaurds Steve

gday

im a beginner

if boat is set up that way could be deliberate

im learning about mast and rudder rake

test it then adjust the retest for change has been best advice

unless you know guru

and even then test adjust retest i think ??????

just tuck my rudders a little further under seems to stop cat steering off the wind

Hi Steve,

From memory the bottom of the blades, Should be 25-30mm in front of the rudder pintles(Straight line projected down

from both pintles). check to make sure they are square between each other(front edge to back edge.)

Whereabouts are you located??

What sail number did you get, Is it glass or ply.

It doesn't really matter how old they are, If it's been looked after they don't show their age

Regards

Richard

Steve, sail the boat as it is, with sails sheeted on and your weight on trap at the stays, you should have slight weather helm. If the rudders are tucked under to far you could end up with dangerous lee helm. Don't change anything untill you have sailed it. Check mast rake and rig tension before making any adjustments. Where are you ? find other 4.9s in your area and compare.

Thanks for all the replys guys.