Advice please!!

Rowena

Hi everyone, I'm Rowena, I've been living in Cairns now for almost 3 years and finally want to get back into sailing again!

I've never actually sailed a catamaran before, though I have plenty of experience on mono-hulls from 12ft to 40ft boats. Used to sail pacers when I was in school then joined a couple of the yacht clubs in Darwin and started sailing the big boats. Did several seasons of races on various boats (all mono-hulls) until I moved to Cairns.

I have done a bit of research on which cat I think would be best to start with and I've narrowed it down to either a Nacra 4.5 or Hobie 16. Most of the time I will be sailing with my partner but I do want a cat that is easy enough to sail single-handedly. My partner has had some experience on hobies in the past so he will teach me some of the finer points of cat sailing. At this point we are not looking at racing, though I do plan to be sailing it every week or two.

But anyway, I would love to hear other peoples' opinions and advice on what cat I should be looking at getting and any general advice or hints for sailing cats as opposed to mono-hulls.

they're all good. The best one is the one your local club has most of.

Will you sail at Lake Tinaroo, or risk the reefs and jellyfish?

Cats v monohulls; fast cats are thrilling, and flying the hull is just an awesome experience. Watch out for nosediving cartwheels! Monohulls are fun when they get on the plane, and the perception is they offer more tactical racing. Whoever said that hasn't raced in a fleet of Paper Tigers!