Windrush help please

33frupus

Im looking at buying a w14 sail no,4547

could anyone tell me if this boat would be a mark 1 or 2,

will it have bulkheads or a casting stamp, and any problems that are common on w14's this old.

I have no knowledge on w14(except what ive learnt in 5 mins on this site)

previous cats ive had are elwood jnr and paper tigers.

Cheers

What do you want to know? I will tell you all the things to look out for, don’t be put off they are great boats when set up correctly with Mylar sails and trap there yard stick is 87.5 and often out perform there yard stick

The old boats are heavy 90 to 100 kgs. They had no structural strengthening inside the hulls around the front and back where the beams bolt to the hulls. If you sail sloop and nose dive it or sail in rough chop they can crack and break under the front beams. These boats are fine if you get to them before this happens and cut a 5in inspection hole behind the front beam on the deck and glass inside all around under there and down the sides too, don’t stint put plenty of glass in the front, more than the back and more on the inner side where the casting bolts to the hull, then they are built proof. The foam blocks come unstuck sometimes. This is one of the biggest problems with the old boats. When the foam comes loose the hull has nothing to hold the side walls from pumping in and out and squashing in. They lose buoyancy and you can’t stop them from nose diving and you can’t get much speed out of them. The foam must be in tight so the hulls are ridged, that’s the key.