Mast Rake vs Centre Board Rake

GregS

Afternoon All

I'm a relative newbie to PT's, and would be interested in hearing some feedback on the below if anyone has some pearls of wisdom...!!

My PT is set up currently with a 110mm mast rake (measured using the halyard / front beam / rear beam method). Centreboards are maybe 220mm wide, long straight ones (but not as long as the McKenzie ones you can get), already raked back (angle unsure). The steering balance feels nice at the moment, slight weather helm.

I'm looking at experimenting with the mast rake, taking it back to say 60 or 70mm, and I understand in order to compensate for this I'd be looking at adjusting the centreboards.

Now my question is: Is is preferable to increase the rake of the boards back to maintain the balance I have, or is it better to have them maybe at the same or less rake (more upright) and just positioned further back? Put another way, assuming balance is good, what are the thoughts between raked boards or upright boards?

Cheers , Greg

G'day Greg,

I would only experiment with mast rake at this point.

If you are getting weather helm, then you may want to rake the mast back a bit further. As you have said it is at 110mm, so try for 90 - this will usually just be another shackle at each front chainplate (or up the mast) and adjust rears accordingly.

See what happens. You will also notice that the boom will be closer to the deck upwind.

If not, try 70-80mm. You will find a balance point on your boat somewhere - rake on average is between 140mm and 60mm.

The other thing to look at with the weather helm is to check when the rudders are down to see if they are either vertically inline with the pintles or slightly in front - ie: if you place a straight edge lining up the top pintle with the bottom pintle and extend to the bottom of the board, does it touch the line or in front? If it is behind the line, then that's where the weather helm is from.

Let us know how you go.

Regards,

Neil