Looking for advice on a cat for a novice

jhv001

Hello, my name is John. I just joined this forum. I'm thinking about buying a cat to have a bit of fun with. I'm an total novice at sailing. My sailing experience consists of 2 outings on a Hobie Wave (I think) at a resort on my own. Had a great time. And one outing with my wife about 12 years ago again at a resort. I'm not sure what boat that was. I don't think it was a Hobie. From memory it was about 14ft. We had a great time back then too.

Can anybody offer any advice on what I should look for in a boat? I'm not even sure what budget I should allow for. I'm thinking for a first boat, no more than $2k to $3k including trailer. I'm not interested in racing at any time. I just want to go out and have some fun, either solo or with my wife or friend.

Any advice will be very welcome. I live in Western Sydney.

Thanks.

John

Ryde and Concord sailing club is a good start.

You may not want to race but to learn it helps to be somewhere where the sailing is relatively intense.  Some clubs have learn to sail programs too.

Cats are a good choice, if you find things getting too hectic you can just sit there and they generally won't suddenly capsize!

I sail a 14ft cat which allows me to rig and unrig without assistance (just a few seconds of balance to get the mast in it's step - again something you'd learn if around others).  My cats have generally cost around $1250 although one I had cost me $600 and it was a good buy and competitive too.  Maricats and Windrush are good starters but don't take my word for it, look up a club and go along.

There are a few people who come up from Sydney to Lake Macquarie to sail.  Here you don't have ferries rushing around or narrow channels but you do have the comfort of knowing that if you get into trouble you can just sit there and you'll end up on one shore or another (not New Zealand!).