What boat to buy

I am new to sailing and wish to buy a cat suitable for myself and 10 year old son. Our total weight is roughly 110 kilos. At times we would also like to go cruising with the whole family of four. Is there a boat out there that anyone recommends with a price up to $2500. A Calypso 16 has been suggested by a friend - any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I have a Calypso 16 and find it great ... its not the quickest boat at the club but it is a great allrounder.

Hobies and nacras are probably a quicker craft but that all depends on who is sailing them. The best advice I can give you is to join a club .. I spent 12 months with my first craft .. a Hobie 14 ... and I learnt more in 3 outings with the club than I did in that 12 months on my own !!

Once you join a club you will find that you get a lot more enjoyment out of your cat.

Things that you need to think about are ... how to rig the boat .. how to handle the changing conditions ... what are the sail and rigging like .. a club will save you big dollars in the long run

Good Luck and keep us posted on how you get on

Originally posted by fantom:

I have a Calypso 16 and find it great ... its not the quickest boat at the club but it is a great allrounder.

Hobies and nacras are probably a quicker craft but that all depends on who is sailing them. The best advice I can give you is to join a club .. I spent 12 months with my first craft .. a Hobie 14 ... and I learnt more in 3 outings with the club than I did in that 12 months on my own !!

Once you join a club you will find that you get a lot more enjoyment out of your cat.

Things that you need to think about are ... how to rig the boat .. how to handle the changing conditions ... what are the sail and rigging like .. a club will save you big dollars in the long run

Good Luck and keep us posted on how you get on