sailing an A class

peter

Hi everyone,

I am after some very basic advice. Having sailed a laser dinghy for the past 7 years I am considering moving sailing/racing a Cat next season. I sailed a maricat around twenty years ago so i have some basic cat sailing experience. Is it too much to be able to start sailing an A class ( at club level)or should i look at something like a paper tiger or cat rigged taipan as a more gentle introduction. would a Mark 3 a class be competitive at club level. i am based on the central coast of NSW. Any advice or info would be greatly appreciated.

many thanks

Peter

G'day Peter,

If I was in your position, I would definitely "try before I buy". There is a pretty big difference between a Paper Tiger and an A Class.

I am heavily involved in the Paper Tiger class, but I will try not to be biased in my comments!

A Paper Tiger is certainly an excellent introduction to catamaran sailing, especially the racing scene. They are a great training ground for some of the bigger classes as well. The current A Class World Champion, Glenn Ashby, sailed Paper Tigers for a number of years before moving into the A Class. He has stated many times that the PT was the ideal training ground.

The PT regularly attracts around 50 boats from 5 states to the Nationals, something you won't get in other 14ft cat classes. The PTs also have an International Championships 2 years out of every 3, alternating between Australia and New Zealand. The top ten from the Nationals form the National Team, with others being able to compete based on their Nationals results.

In my mind, to jump straight onto an A Class is asking too much of yourself. They are a full on racing machine with loads of power, which needs to be controlled properly for you to be able to enjoy it. A Taipan is probably a better intermediate step than going straight to an A Class.