Hawke 14ft

Im just getting into catamarans and do not have much money to start with - hence looking at this one, would this be a good boat to learn on - or am I wasting my time?

Seems a really good deal, good condition, main sail and jib, new tramp and fully registered trailer all for $300 - what do you think? My idea was to start with something like this and if I really get the bug upgrade in about a years time.

For $300.00 the trailer alone is probably good value.... but I think that these types of "bargains" tend to be what scares most people away from sailing.

You will buy it and it will need

NEW TRAMPOLINE - $300

NEW SAILS - $600

NEW SIDE STAYS ALL ROUND - $150

NEW FITTINGS AND MISSING BITS - $100

AGES OF WASTED HOURS TRYING TO FIX THE PARTS THAT BREAK EVRYTIME YOU TAKE IT SAILING - Priceless !

As I always say. If it Walks Like A duck, Quacks Like a Duck - It probably is a Duck (Replace Duck with Dud)

Sorry but save your pennys and visit a reputable dealer and spend your money wisely

PS I have a Mountain Bike on the roof of my shed that I would sell for $10.00....

[This message has been edited by catsailor.net (edited 26 July 2005).]

For a couple of hundred bucks you have little to lose but it will be difficult to even get replacement parts. The sport of sailing costs more than $300.00. In fact every sport I know does. When you want to learn to sail properly, get a proper boat and learn from experienced people.

I started on a cheap surfcat 27years ago.

Hell Fella's, for $300 how could he go wrong? If it floats, the mast stands up, the sail sets, he wears a proper life jacket and he doesn't try to sail across to Tasmania, he will at least get the "experience" of what the basics of cat sailing is all about, THEN he can look at something a bit better. At that price it sounds like a good way to "start" and if it falls apart in the first dozen sails it would still be cheaper than "hireing" a cat for the same time on the water?