Jump to content

Darren Bundock and Glenn Ashby Crowned 2004 Formula 18 World Champions.

Recommended Posts

Darren Bundock and Glenn Ashby Crowned 2004 Formula 18 World Champions.

Hobie Tiger takes first four places at World Championship.

The 2004 Formula 18 World Championships were hosted by Yacht Club Nautico Follonica and run from the Puntala Camping Resort on the beautiful Italian Riviara.

160 Formula 18's competed from the period of 10-17 July for the prestigious World Title. The battle of the 10 different manufactures was clearly dominated by the Hobie Tiger taking the first four overall placings.

Darren Bundock and Glenn Ashby got off to a shakey start to the regatta after leading the first heat, they capsized after being tangled with the spinnaker boats of the previous fleet. Now with their race discard out of the way in the first heat Bundock and Ashby turned on a consistent winning streak not finishing out of the top 4 while their main competition were placing in the 15th and 26's.

Bundock and Ashby went on to win the series with a score card of 17,1,3,1,1,1,2,1,2,1,1,4 to beat Mitch Booth and Herbert Derkson by 25 points. Gavin Colby and Cory Camenisch stole third position from Jean Mourniac and Franck Citeau in the final heat.

Bundock said "it is extremely pleasing to hit such good form so close to the Olympics, our starts were awesome at times and to sail so consistently through the entire wind range even amazed us".

"The regatta had a bit of everything" Bundock said. "We were even treated to some match racing before the start of the final two heats. After sailing against Mitch for so many years I was not surprised. He got what he deserved after we both started the final heat nearly one minute late. The tables turned and we were able to battle back to 4th position while he slipped down into the late 20's."

Glenn Ashby now heads down the Italian coast to Lago Bracciano to defend his European A-Class Championship from the 18-24 July.

Whilst Bundock will rest for a week before teaming up with John Forbes in Athens in preparation for the 2004 Olympics.

World Championship list-


1998, 2001, 2002, 2003 Olympic Tornado World Champion

2002 ISAF Multihull World Champion

2004 Formula 18 World Champion


1996, 2002, 2004 A-Class World Champion

2004 Formula 18 World Champion

Further information call Darren Bundock on +49 177 603 8084.


Sponsored by:

Marinepool, FSE Robline, Subaru-All Wheel Drive, Ronstan, Tacktick, Ullman Eye Wear.

Supported by:

Yachting Australia, Australian Institute of Sport, NSWIS, Australian Olympic Committee & Verein Segler Haus Wannsee.


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...