tacking in a Windrush 14

T. Beard

It has been a long time since we have used our boat and Yesterday we went out on Morton Bay in 15k choppy waters.

We were 2 up and I was sitting back near the aft beam and my forward hand was aft of the side stay to stop any nose diving.

The last time I went out I cut myself to pieces on the fittings as i nose dived so have been a bit shy of sailing this thing for some time.

The problem was tacking. We had the jib backed to assist and we had the speed. It must of taken us 10-12 times to get around.

Where am I going wrong.Is it always this hard in strong winds?

It was starting to get embarrassing infront of all the dinghy sailors.

Tony

Tony,

Hi, I'm no expert, but this is how I do it anyhow!...;

1) If the water is choppy then the waves can make tacking difficult, especially if you dont enter the tack with sufficient speed. The waves can knock the boat back onto the tack you started from and make it nearly impossible to get through the wind (even with the jib). Hence the advice is you need to enter the tack with some good boat speed, dont sail up closer and closer to the breeze till you're nearly stopped then hope you can tack. Get boat speed (bear off a little if necessary) and in a smooth arc come up to the wind.

2) Time the tack in regards to the waves, so you're not "in irons" just in time so that there is a big fat wave waiting to smack into the bows to push the boat back around (this isnt always easy esp if its short sharp chop and not longer waves).

3) Make sure you still have the sail working as you are sailing up closer to the wind, this means that (a) the traveller has to be pulled in to say 10cm from centre as you are approaching the tack and (b) the main is sheeted quite tight and © the downhaul is pulled on so the front of the sail is nice and flat (without lots of depth).