Jump to content

SA state titles 2007


Recommended Posts

The 2007 SA state titles were held at Lake Bonney on the Adelaide Cup long weekend. It was great to 16 PT’s at Lake Bonney, special mention goes to Brenton Wright, making the trip from Tassie.

Saturday greeted us with drifter conditions, and after waiting for an expected northerly, we eventually started in about 1-2knots. The fleet was closely packed, and sailed a shortened course in shifty conditions. Local sailor John Eshman got the best of things to win the heat, with a surprise from David Marcroft who sailed through the fleet into 2nd position, missing the win by the narrowest margin.

By Sunday the breeze had arrived, and although it was quite shifty, the strength was between 15-20 all day. Glen Partridge was the big mover in the first race for the day, finding his own lane along the shore, and coming through the last beat to win. Ben Wright was unlucky to have a mast head fitting let go, and failed to finish the heat.

Tom Bawden won the next two races, with close competition from Russell Jolly, Lyall Daly, Greg McDonald, Ben Wright, John Eshman and Glen Partridge. There were numerous lead changes in all the races, and the racing was very hard to predict. Broken rudders ended the series of John Eshman, and also one race for Russell, who had to borrow rudders to complete the series.

Russell Jolly and Pete Darling got the best start in the final race, and pulled out a huge lead around the first mark. Unfortunately for Pete his spanner bolt broke, and Russell headed off in the wrong direction allowing Ben Wright to win the last race of the regatta.

It was a great titles, with the skippers enjoying the Lake Bonney hospitality on Sat. night. Thankyou to the committee for their work in organizing the regatta, and also to the Lake Bonney Yacht club for their efforts on the water and in the clubhouse.



Champion: Tom Bawden Carbon Copy

2nd: Glen Partridge Wild Thing

3rd: Ben Wright Zap

B Grade: Glen Partridge

2nd: Lyall Daly Chili Beach

C Grade: Brian Hughes Aloha

2nd: Jason Storr Yin Yang

Veteran: Glen Partridge

Most Improved: Peter Darling

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...