Mast Pre-bend

steve_garlick

Hi all,

I'm wondering if more mast pre-bend would allow me to power up my sail better.

I'm just learning the basics of tuning the 5.8, and reading White's book, it seems that if I increase the tension in my diamonds, and increase the rake on the spreaders, it will allow the mast to bend more, and give me a fuller sail.

I'm currently running 35mm rake on the spreaders and shrouds are 'middle' tight.

what's the perceived wisdom on this. I should add that my sail is old and baggy (shapeless really) and total crew weight is embassing (195 kg) with the weighty part being at the back. I'm figureing I'd like a fuller sail, that my crew can flatten off with the downhaul, and just leave mast rotation alone at the moment.

REgards,

Steve

Steve yeh you can pull brebend into a 5.8 mast,by cranking down the diamonds, but when the wind gets over 15 knots (even with 195kg on the side ) you'll be over powered,if you need shape in your main try sanding the battens so there thinner and bend easier.however if your main is clapped out you my be up for a new sail!

Steve, Increasing prebend will flatten your main. Try and get it to stand up a bit. Decrease spreader rake, whilst maintaining diamond tension. The reason for maintaining diamond tension is to keep the mast stiff..... So the head doesnt lay off early. You will also want to rake your mast a little further forward than the lighter teams.

I ran a bit on the heavy side also when I had a 5.8 but can't remember the settings.... Too many years ago. Give Brisbane Cat Center a call and ask them what the basic factory settings were and stand it up from there. I'll ask some of the past 5.8 gurus at our club and see what settings they come up with.

PS. Where are you based.