What is this boat on ebay?

ozynigma

Hi All,

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/16-Ft-Catamaran-Hydra-Sailing-Boat_W0QQitemZ220125197904QQihZ012QQcategoryZ102701QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I went and checked out this boat last week that was originally advertised as a 16ft Nacra.

It looks very Nacra with the diamond braced mast, dagger boards etc, very much in the style of the 5.8's I have been looking at but smaller. It has a boom for the mainsail and no bridle foil for the jib.

Length of the hulls is 5m excluding the rudders. Is this a Nacra 5.2 perhaps?

The boat has now been relisted and on the advice of another ebayer the seller is now describing the boat as a Hydra. I have no knowledge of the Hydra so I can't comment.

Any comments?

Thanks,

Howard

Howard,

This is a HYDRA 5m. They were manufactured by J & S Fibreglass who were the licensed builder on the Gold Coast during the late '70s early 80's.

The original concept was by a pommie designer (can't remember his name) and was supposed to be a trainer for the Olympic Tornado. It was named after the island of Hydra in the Greek Med. (The urban myth with some truth to it was that the designer had a dirty weekend there with an air hostie).

The class seemed to die out after the World titles on the Gold Coast in 1982/83 which also seemed to co-incide with a split in the partnership doing the manufacturing. There were some 80 odd boats with about a dozen nations represented (from memory) and was won by Colin Metcher (who now sails a Cobra out of Southport).

Although they were a bit on the heavy side (over 115-120kg platform weight) and under canvassed compared to the H16, in the right conditions they were very quick and a refined and challenging boat to sail well.

I think it was 1983 a Hydra won the Currumbin marathon in very light conditions on scratch against the 16 foot fleet and by something like 45 minutes on handicap.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Leroy wink.gif