New to Maricats

munroet

Hi guys

I race a Laser on a weekly basis but am looking to buy a Maricat. I am new to catamarans so am unsure exactly what to look for what could be wrong with a second hand Mari - can anyone advise? Furthermore, what's the difference between a Mari 4.0 and a 4.3 apart from just the length. I am looking to sail the boat solo and sometimes with my better half.

Your help and guidence would be much appreciated.

Thanks

mostly the difference between the Maricat 4.0 and 4.3 is length, they share many common parts. If there is a chanc you may want to race the maricat then the 4.3 is yur best bet since the 4.0 does not race within the maricat association and is usually used for hire or resorts.

There are 4 variations of the 4.3 maricat.

The original 14 which has more narrow bows than the others and is becoming more rare. These are quite fast although tend to nosedive more easily than later models and do not support 2 people as well.

mark 1 has the traveller track detached from the rear beam and is more bouyant than the original 14. These still race competitively against the mark 2.

mark 2 has the traveller track integrated into the rear beam and is generally considered to be a nicer boat than the mark 1.

mark 3 it is now possible to get the maricat with foam sandwich hulls and significant structural improvements (stronger). These are available from Brisbane catamarans but unlikely to find one second hand now since the first one made was late last year.