Questions to ask when buying a Windrush 14 (for a Newbie)

ZaneO

Hiya,

I'm a real noob, thinking seriously about getting into cat sailing (as a hobby - not racing).

Anyway, I've taken a bunch of advice, and figure I will look out for a second hand Windrush 14.

Surely there are a handful of things that I should be looking at / asking when looking to buy a Windrush 14.

I have had wee hunt around, and haven't bee able to find a similar post.

I think it would be really useful to have a list of questions that I newbie like me should be asking (or things to look at) when looking to buy a windrush 14.

I will use these questions myself one day soon I hope...

I will edit this post with suggested questions, so as to create a concise list.

Add your best questions...

Questions to ask when buying your cat...

- How old is it

- How old are the sails

- Does it come with a rolly-up thing for the sail/s

- What are the hulls made of (foam, wood etc)

[This message has been edited by ZaneO (edited 07 January 2008).]

Zaneo,

Your in the right place for Windrush advice and in safe hands.

First thing you need to decide is price tag...

For $1500 you'll get a light weight non bulkhead with bulkheads or a bulkhead boat that needs some work... If your lucky it will have mylar sails, most likely in the last half of its life...

For $2500-3000 you'll pick up a bulkhead boat with a good set of sails and it will be competitive.

For $5000-7000 you'll pick up a foam sandwich boat with a good set of sails and it will be competitive and much newer than a bulkhead boat.

So once you have price tag out of the way move onto the hulls.

The minimum weight is 77.5kgs for the platform (no rigging). The hulls are up to mark III.