Online wind vane.

Are there any online weather sites that show wind direction and speed in real time, like on the cable TV weather channel? A wind speed history for the day be good to see as well. You could look it up when you got home to see exactly how strong the wind was when you were out sailing. I sail around Moreton bay Brisbane. I sailed to Moreton Island today (only took just over an hour) I’m curious to know how strong the wind was. They forecast 15-20K but it seemed a bit less?? (I’m no expert at guessing wind strength yet). I ask because I think it’s important to be able to relate the forecast wind strength with actual ocean conditions smile.gif

Guest THING

DENN1S,

I KNOW YOU ARE KEEN TO LEARN ALL YOU CAN ABOUT SAILING YOUR 5.8 BUT JUST AS A MATTER OF INTEREST WHEN YOU SAILED TO MORETON ISLAND YESTERDAY DID YOU LET ANYBODY FROM H.Y.C.OR THE COASTGUARD KNOW WHERE YOU WERE GOING. LET ME TELL YOU IF YOU DROP A RIG OUT THERE YOU ARE NOT AN EASY FIND ESPECIALY IF NOBODY KNOWS WHERE TO START LOOKING FOR YOU, JUDGING BY YESTERDAYS FORECAST IT WAS NOT A WISE DICISSION.EVEN THOUGH THE BREEZE DID NOT EVENTUATE.IF YOU WANT TO DO THESE SORTS OF TRIPS ALONE THEN MAY I SUGGEST YOU PURCHASE AN EPERB AND A MARINE RADIO , FOR YOUR OWN SAFTY.

THING.

I was confidant of the rig not breaking. I checked everything thoroughly. I have new stays and diamond wires etc. I have an EPERB. It’s a trip I have done many times in various sailboats. I have even done it in an open kayak, took 4.5 hours though. Are you a member of HYC? I am in the process of getting insurance so I can join.

Ps, what’s wrong with your caps lock button?

Guest no name

I WAS GOING TO SAY THE SAME THING.

I HAVE SEEN BOATS BREAK UP IN MORTETON BAY IT CAUSED ALL SORTS OF PROBLEMS TO TRY TO FIND THEM. WEATHER AND CONDITIONS CAN CHANGE PREATY FAST ON THE BAY AND BECOME RATHER SCARY.

NO NAME