Sail trimming for a numpty

NickSki

G'day all,

I'm a social sailor, I'm mostly self taught and I haven't raced (but might start when I get a chance) or even a member of a club mainly because I'm in the military and work most weekends. Anyway, generally speaking, if I am running with the wind should I have the traveller right out (ie. full length of the rail) and most of the mainsheet out with the sail pushed against the stay and when I'm reaching is the traveller about half way out and the main sheet tightish? Or is it a bit more scientific/individual boat specific? When I'm running I struggle to stay about 30 degrees or so from the wind otherwise I have to hold the boom out as it gets eager to gybe. I've got a feeling this might be due to the rake I need to use on to stop the nose from ploughing but that is just a pluck in the dark. Also, the jib gets limp and seems pretty useless with the wind anywhere near behind me. When I was younger learning on monohulls as soon as the jib started to flutter you could pull it across to the opposite side to get extra sail area but with the mari it won't seem to do anything, even if I try to hold it out it just stays limp.

Is all normal? Any advice would be appreciated. Hope I haven't confused anyone with incorrect terms, I'm not very nautical apparently (as you could probably tell from my silly questions). 

Cheers

Nick