Calypso 16 Vs Nacra 5.2

I need some assistance in deciding whether to buy a Calypso 16 or a Nacra 5.2. I intend to eventually start racing with my 10 year old son. I have some sailing experience with 125's and Sabot's and lots of Sailboard experience if this counts. I am looking at spending up to $2500.

Are the Nacra 5.2's still in production and if not can I get spares easily.

5.2 > calp 16

The nacra 5.2 is more performance orientated due to the plum full bows and the centerboards ,which among many other things will give the boat quite an edge in performance over the calp 16 ,the calp 16 is probley more forgiving than the 5.2 due to the centerboards .depends on if your going to get serious in the racing or take the kids for a blast ,both are no longer in production and parts should be available at manufactuares in Brisbane .

calp 16 should be around the $2000 .5.2 should be $2500-$3500 for a shit hot one.

In your situation I'd go the nacra ,it's got more volume = more freeboard ,centerboards for better perf and lets face it the 5.2 looks a hell of alot more sexy than a calp 16.

Remember the old 5.2 add ,there was a 5.2 rigged on the beach and a porsche and a lambo or a ferraris sitting next to it with a heading saying "Sail in the fast lane "

keep an eye on the Trading post or Sunday mail or check out Bris cat center for one thats been traded or on consignment.

Guest Old Mate

There's Reasonably priced 5.8's around. Also Hobie 16's, but to get a decent 16 that hasn't gone soft... GOOD LUCK. Personally I'd go for a reasonably priced 5.8! Twin Trap and reasonably forgiving.

Old Mate

Originally posted by Old Mate:

There's Reasonably priced 5.8's around. Also Hobie 16's, but to get a decent 16 that hasn't gone soft... GOOD LUCK. Personally I'd go for a reasonably priced 5.8! Twin Trap and reasonably forgiving.

Old Mate