getting into nacras - I'd love some advice

jamesw

Hi - I'm a newby to this forum. But an experienced cat sailor. Started with an arafura cadet then an arrow... a caper cat, then a long boatless existence before being hooked again when a friend gave me a windsurfer last year. Now I'm keen to introduce my sweetheart and son to the joys of cat sailing now, and maybe do a spot of racing.

I've shopped around and it seems the big decision is between a hobie18 and a nacra 5.5 or 5.8, and there seems to be enthusiasm for the nacras. I've often eyed them off - fast, tidy, well kept. And they can be had for $5-$10k it seems.

I'd really appreciate some advice. Is this too much of a handful? Although I have lots of sailing experience, my crew won't have. Is it a challenge to rig? Get on/off trailer? And is it possible to take a bit of gear (eg in waterproof drums) for an island over-nighter? I'd like something fast, but could look for a cat with a small cabin.

All advice welcome/valued.

james

I'm based in Brisbane. Checking out a nacra this Sunday with luck. And planning to sail on the bay and broadwater I guess. I'm drawn to open water, but with a crew who are new to sailing I'll stick to sheltered water initially. The broadwater and in behind south Stradbroke look great. I often kayak there. And more reliable breeze than inland (eg Somerset or Wivenhoe). Not much point rigging up for less than 10 knots I suppose. Any recommended spots?

hi james

what weight are u and ur crew? i sail a 5.8 and love it 99% of the time hate it when there is less then 8knts of wind .but having said that we do weight up at almost 200kgs between myself and crew. if ur a light weight crew may be a 5.8 isnt going to be ur boat . maybe the 5.0 would suit u better . regardless of what u buy if its a nacra u will love it

Hi James,

Ok, so I'm probably a bit biased in my comments below because I have my Nacra F18 up for sale.