Kula Kat information

Matt15

Hello!

I'm new to sailing and catamaran's but quickly became hooked since buying my first boat a 14ft Kula Cat. Great boat, lots of hull space and it's sizeable for a family island adventure.

I'm wanting to find out more about the boat/brand and wondered if anybody here can link or email me information about the design specs, rigging/setups etc

I've used google to search the web but nothing can be found about this brand boat at all. I'm assuming sny info on this unpopular 1980's brand might be found amongst the old black and white catalogues lol

I read here that it's very similar to a Maricat?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Matt

I have a copy of 'Catamaran Sailor Test Edition 1982/83 season" which has a review and a bit of info on it.

Give me a day or two to scan the Kula Cat page and i'll post it up.

Basic Info

-----------

LOA 4.3m

Beam 2.3m

mast length 6.7m

boom length 2.45m

crew 1-4 adults

weight 90kg

sail area 10 sq m

Thank you both for your replies. Apologies about the spelling too - i.e. Kula Cat not Kula Kat.

Symo a copy of that review would be fantastic - thank you so much.

Hills I will take some photos soon as i'm open for all types of setup advice.

Cheers Matt

• 2 weeks later...

hi

i am a newbie here that has just bought a kula cat

in a sad but repairable state , i to would like some info on it

as there is a fair bit of rigging missing

any info would be greatly appreciated

or even a diagram on the correct rigging would be fantastic

thanks

ian

IMAG0450.jpg

Hey Ian, welcome to the dying Kula Cat fleet. Not many of these old cats around and I still have not located any documentation or information about the rigging.

I'm only an amateur but certainly willing to help you out if I can. Thus far the concepts are very simular if not identical to other popular cats of its time.

I guess the first step would be to identify what rigging your missing and go from there.