seeking detailed maricat diagram

Krispynewton

Gday all, 

Newbie here.. 

I bought a unloved old maricat to restore and learn as i go.

I know no one in this hobby, i taught myself the basics of sailing last year in a mirror boat. 

I'm attempting to erect the maricat mast but can't work out what i have, what needs replacing and what I'm missing. 

My first problem is that the mast has two plastic-covered wire cables attached and another two in the travel box. 

Of the four, two are long, two are short - which pair of cables attach to the d-shackles on the bows? 

Apologies if this seems an obvious question. 

Also- if anyone ever sails the Tweed River give me a shout.. I live opposite the boat ramp at Chinderah. 

The long ones go on the bow, the short ones on the side.

The large D shackle on the mast should have the long forestays in the middle then the shrouds on the outside.

Rig the mast shackle then put the forestays on.

Lift the mast so it's standing upright on the ground just in front of the mast step on the front beam.

Once you have it steady lift and slot the base into the mast step.  You should be able to do this in one smooth motion and just let the mast fall back with the forestays stopping it falling on the ground.

Once it's like this you should be able to then attach the shrouds.  What I've done in the past (and still do when it's windy) is to attach a rope (eg the mainsheet) to the halyard and then pull it on so that it is tight.  The triangulation of the forestays and the haylard will make it safe long enough to attach the shrouds.

In the racing world we use forestays at 5.5m and shrouds at 5m.  This gives a good mast rake but if you've got an old sail the boom may be too low.  When you start sailing and keep nose diving (going down the mine!) then you should consider this extra rake and get a sailmaker to put a D ring on the back of the sail about 150mm up from the old one.