novice sailor - what would suit me

Hi, I am a novice sailor (sailed twice on a hobie cat in the maroochy river) and would like to buy a boat to sail. I'm looking for a boat that is easy to launch and retrieve by myself (light) and that will allow me to race when I know what I am doing (not necessarily win though, just for the fun of it.) Have seen them using beach wheels so I imagine you need a fairly light boat to drag it over the sand. I would like to also be able to go out in it myself or perhaps sometimes take a second person with me (mostly just me though). I would also like a boat that is easy to right by yourself after a capsize. I'm a 40 year old disability pensioner (psych disorder) so don't have lots to spend. Would like a boat that I could sail down at Woody Point or in the Bribie passage. Any suggestions would be very helpful.

Thanks,

Shane.

Sounds like you need to go to the humpybong club and talk to a few of the members there.

a hobie 14 or 16 might be what you are looking for..... but no matter what craft you purchase you still need to know how to rig it and sail it .... join a club and save yourself a lot of time and effort ... remember if you get stuck out there you carn't walk home ... join a club

Hi ,

Check out a prindle 15 , a great stable cat with the scope to grow and race . No centreboards and a great trampoline for taking out a couple of friends. I love Prindles . Also wont kill your wallet .

See the guys at Bris cat centre too .They used to make these things .

All the best ,

ANT

a maricat 4.3 would be worth a look. more bouyent than a hobbie 14 so you can take 2 out on them without sinking. they have built in esky and start at about $500 on a trailer. you might find a hobbie 16 a bit flighty especialy one up. go yo your local club and there is a fare chanse that you would be able to for a run on a couple different makes before you decide.