Mari vs Taipan

Cfigio

As someone looking for my first cat, I was pretty keen on getting a Mari, but have been offered a wooden Taipan. Now it sounds good, but did see one comment in the Taipan forum regarding the cost of upkeep. Religious wars aside, it a Mari that much cheeper to own? Or was it just a friendly jab which I've missunderstood?

C.

I sell boats for a living and I can tell you for a fact that any plywood boat no matter what type is going to be high maintanance. If you havn't got the time to look after her. Leave her on the shelf. The fibreglass boats of any type cost more to purchase but next to nothing in time and money to maintain.

The upkeep on both boats would be the same. Sails, tramps and halyads are the main expences. The Taipan is a bigger boat and takes up more room to store but they are faster than a maricat.

The Maricat fleets are building up again so the compertition is fresh and keen. One big advantage of a maricat over a taipam is they are almost indistructable and cheap to buy.

• 9 months later...

I went from a wooden cherub to a Mari, with the cerub it was sand and varnish every spring, sand paint or varnish after most outings as you would invariably either scratch the bottom or ding the boat (read punch a hole thru the hull) hose off all the salt after sailing, make sure the boat is stored dry to prevent rot (did'nt,) just too much work even for someone that grew up with plywood boats. I promised myself that the next boat would be fibreglass and would'nt need bailing out after a capsise. Result a Maricat. The mari is nearly bullet proof, bit of a hose after sailing, leave in the driveway over winter, just take the tramp off, no worries. Unless you are a good carpenter or cabinetmaker take the mari.