14' Traveller series for 2011-2012

sando

Any interest in a 14' Cat travellers series in NSW next season?

Possible regattas

1/ Mannering Park 14' regatta early October

2/ Kembla Klassic PKSC Late November

3/ Something Sydney Metro - Ryde/Kurnell Late January

4/ 14' Regatta Koonawarra second weekend in February

5/ Lake Wallagoot March

6/ Tookley April

4 of 6 to count, A&B divisions Koonawarra Bay yardstick.

I know the Maricats did this for a number of seasons.

• Replies 208
  • Created
  • Last Reply

lovin that you included Wallagoot! Usually 2nd weekend in March. Having a great turn-up at this year's regatta proved inspiring to those watching, and 2 more cats have come to the club, although they are total beginners not yet completed a race. We now have 3 Maricats, 3 Windrush, 3 Paper Tigers, 1 A-class, 1 Nacra 5.0, and 1 Nacra 14sq, although 3 to 5 boats might turn up on a typical weekend.

For 3/ I'd also consider the Palm Beach Club, if they run anything; http://www.pbsc.org.au/ seems to be a "Beware of the Bullets" regatta, mid-Nov, includes F18 State Titles

- KCC list an Australia Day Regatta / Marathon. Results show 14 starters, 10 boats finished a 2 1/2 to 3 hr race, with all 14' cats DNF. What's that all about?

6/ Toukley; Brass Monkey Regatta 11-13 Jun 2011

The Paper Tiger NSW State Pointscore (traveler series) also includes;

- YMCA's Multihull Champs late October, Canberra

- this year added Batemans Bay Anzac Regatta, my favourite of the year, although not many attended

Personally I like it when all the 14' cats race together, rather than splitting some off into a different division, and think this idea for a series is a ripper!

Please can it include the Nacra 14sq? At 4.5m long, yardstick 84.5, the reality is they race well with us. Dad sails one and I love it when we get to race each other

Love the idea.