16sq mast rotation controls advice.

Tripletach

Hi Guys. I have a nacra 16sq which I only bought a few weeks ago and I am fairly new to sailing. I've just realised it should have some sort of mast rotation controls on it and it doesn't or I haven't set it up. Could someone enlighten me on how to set up mast rotation control on the 16sq? Many thanks.

16 sq mast rotation

The mast rotation setup on most 16 sq's is really simple, there have been a number of minor changes over the years but regardless most work the same way.

On the bottom of the mast is the rotator (mostly refered to as a spanner) this is at the very bottom of the mast and faces forward (don,t bother turing it around to de-rotate the mast up wind like a taipan or a class as it doesn't work on the standard 16sq rig) It is usually held in place with a riviet on either side that also holds the mast base in place, sometimes there is a second set of riviets to stop it pivoting downwards when in use, more common is a short rope tension strop that runs uo to a saddle on the front of the mast, this is there to stop the spanner pulling down and touching the front beam when the mast is rotated.

The front beam should have 2 small turning blocks on its top face about 200mm either side of the mast ball, these are usually fitted with a stand up spring so that they are standing vertically when not in use, there should also be 2 cleats on the front beam to secure the rope from the mast spanner, the position of these cleats vary greatly from 1 boat to the next due to personal preferance but they all do the same job. On some boats there is also a small turning block near the very ends on the front beam to allow the rope to be pulled from anywhere and still pull it through the cleat (not every boat has these as they again are personal preferance).