knobblyoldjimbo Posted June 12, 2012 Report Share Posted June 12, 2012 So, on Sat at Toukley I found myself in an enviable position, coming up to the first mark on Stbd with Mick, Rodney and Darcy coming in on Port. Mick had overstood the mark and recommended that I had room to tack, which I obediently did. Now tacking a cat rig and in particular me tacking a cat rig is quite slow but I'd effected the tack (was close hauled) when Rodney came up and gave me a hurry on (I wasn't up to speed). Of course with Mick and Darcy watching like hawk's poor Rodney had no choice but to do a turn which, on Micks recommendation he did at the end of the leg. OK, so all well and good, however: 1. I could have carried on on Stbd because Rule 18 doesn't apply when one or both boats going to windward have to tack at the mark. It would probably have been better since I might have not completed my tack and therefore not been close hauled when I got pushed so tactically I should have stood on and given Mick cause to keep clear (not something I think he could have done). 2. When you feel the need to do a penalty I understand that it should be done straight away, steering clear of other boats - I think the rules say "promptly" so doing it at the end of the leg is not allowed. This of course would not have been likely to happen if the courses were Port rounding - there are so many more complications with Stbd rounding. So, nobody did anything wrong it's just the options that I wanted to bring up. Quite possibly with harder competition things might have been different. James Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.