Nose diving

Marz

Hi, I'm new to this sport and have recently purchased a Windrush 14. It's in great condition with Mylar sails. I've sailed it about 10 times now both with someone else and on my own all in about 15 to 20 knots of wind on flat water.

The question I have is, is it normal for the hull to nose dive when powered up? I find that as the cat speeds up a lot of water begins to start spraying off the front cross beam. Then the front of the hull starts to bury in and if I hold the main sail in that position for too long it will eventually pitch pole me. I've noticed in some photos of me sailing that the two hulls are not level with each other. When on the beach I can lift the nose of one hull about 30cm before the nose of the other hull starts to lift. Is this twisting normal?

Here is a photo of the nose diving. I hope there is a solution to this.

Thanks

The 4 beam bolts should be tightened regularly (use multigrips and a fair bit of effort) If these bolts have been loose for a long period of time there will be wear in the alloy hull fitting which the beams pivot in. The usual fix is to loosen the tramp, undo the beam bolts on 1 side and pivot the hull inwards. Cut seat belt webbing to fit between beams and hull and re tighten beam bolts, then do the other side. Extreme wear will need double thickness of webbing (rare).

Hi,

I'm a newbie to cats and I'm having a similar issue. How do you adjust the mast rake on a windrush 14?

Ooh, also when you talk about pivoting the hull... Do you mean pointing the nose inward.... So looking down the hulls would form a v shape with the nose of each hull not being parallel to each other?

Thanks in advance

Shaun