cheap masthead float?

mrblenny

Hi,

Longtime lurker, first post :) Recently I have become the proud owner of an old, yet surprisingly quick in my untrained hands 16ft Hydra. At least I think it is a Hydra - picture here:

http://picasaweb.google.com/mrblenny/FirstSailWithTheGreenDreamAkaCredibleHulk#5383849137478863602

What is hard to see in the picture:

Small storage compartments

Centerboards (the ones that pivot down)

Anyway, I have "practiced" turtling the boat last weekend at the Gold Coast and although we got it back up without too much trouble something to stop it, or significantly slow it from fully turtling would be good peace of mind. So I made a few calls and can get Hobie's masthead float with 30kg of buoyancy for $178. It will probably attach to the mast somehow... Being a poor student I thought this might make cheaper, if somewhat funny looking alternative:

http://www.chsmith.com.au/Floats2.html

(see product code FLD025 for the one I am thinking of).

Is this a rookie mistake or a cost effective sensible alternative? :)

Thanks,

Damo

PS I got the boat insured for an agreed value of $3500 with $100 excess for $17 a month using NRMA. It was done over the phone and they didn't mind there was no rego because the boat had a name painted onto it.

I did a Manning Marathon once - long, long time sitting on a run!

There was a yougster in a laser, started with the trailables - he had a plastic two litre milk bottle tied to his masthead. Virtually zero weight, two litres of bouyancy and low cost.

If you want more, just tie another one on!

There's nothing daft about doing it (ok, maybe a little 'uncool') given the practicality of keeping the mast on the water in a capsize.

There's another idea though, you know the kite surfers actually blow up their kites. They have inflatable tubes that hold the kite in place. Maybe one along the top batten would be all that's needed. Since it would be inline with the pocket it wouldn't have much drag.