Beam punching into hull

Hi I'm a newbie and a few weeks ago I bought an old Windrush 14 it has 2683 on the sails and on the aft beam and yesterday was the first time I was able to take her out. Unfortunately after an hour on calm water we noticed the forward beam had started to punch through the port hull and the hull had movement. Can you please let me know what the issue is, and what is the best method of fixing the problem. Looking at the other mounting points I can see stress cracks which up until now I figured was just the gelcoat because of the age. Any advice or information would be appreciated.

20160326_084446.jpg

Hi Curious George,

That doesn't look good at all. The first thing I'd do is get a pair of vice grips and undo the beam bolts (both front & rear bear) then roll the hull under the beam to expose the hull were the beam seats.

Upload a photo of the beam seats on both hulls (both front & rear) and we'll have a better idea of what is going wrong. It may just be delamination, which requires a good angle grinding and rebuilding with chop strand fibreglass.

Cheers,
Michael 

Thanks Michael, I have managed to get the hulls separated and photos.
This is the port forward mount.
Seems that there are bulkheads but I wonder if they are water affected if they are glass over marine ply.

P1180815.JPG.89fb483e8da832573adbec30ccc

This is the starboard aft and it is showing the same type of problem.

P1180821.JPG.630993b717810595d22dbf0549f

What I'm thinking of doing is to cut a hole in the side of the hull so I can cut out the bulkheads and recreate. I would do this for all 4 mounts.
I think it would be best to leave the top well alone except for resealing the glass. I think rebuilding the bulkheads would be the priority so the mounts are supported strongly.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks, Warren

P1180814.JPG

P1180818.JPG

P1180824.JPG

P1180822.JPG

P1180819.JPG