raising and lowering mast

johnt

G'day John

I have no experience with 16Sq, but on my Mari 4.8 the mast is 8.5 metres long and so gets to be a bit of a handfull. Essentially what I have done is to make a small tether of strong cordage (ie. spectra) that shackles to a saddle on the bottom of the mast and the other end is shackled to a saddle on the main beam. In order to put the mast up I attach both side stays on the top hole, the mast is laying backwards on the boat and standing on the tramp I begin to raise it. The bottom of the mast will attempt to come up but can't as the tehter is holding it down, as the mast comes verticle let it drop in front of the main beam and fall forwards, remember, it can't go anywhere because the short tether has it effectively achored to the main beam. Next I attach the forestay(s), again on the top hole(s). Once all stays are attached I stand in front of the main beam and lift the mast up onto it's pin or base. It helps the confidence if the boat has a slight downhill attitude. the tether can be left in place till it's time to lower the mast which is a reversal of putting it up. I have put my mast many times this way with never any sort of problem or drama, although the first few times you do it, it certainly gets a reaction from all other on the beach as they think your mast is about to hit you or someone else on the head.

Harry

I have a line tied to the forestay of my AO4.4 passing through a steel ring on the whiskers and tied off to the base of the mast so that it takes up most of the slack when I unclip the forestay from the whisker wires. I climb on the tramp untie the rope and then lower the mast by hand.

Actually, it's not that difficult to put a 16 Square nast up by yourself. The trick is to let the wind (assuming there is some) to help you.