Newbie - Repairing a Maricat 4.3

manderson

Hi Everyone,

Well, I'm a newbie to the whole sailing thing. I used to sail a reasonable amount with friends but never had anything of my own. I recently acquired a somewhat used (to say the least) Maricat 4.3 which is very sun baked and is missing hull caps etc. From what I can tell it is water tight. I have had the trampoline replaced, but I have some questions:

I have been trauling the internet looking for information on how to restore the fibreglass to a better appearance. Am I right in assuming that I need to sand off all the gelcoat and start again from scratch? I can't seem to find any reliable information.

Secondly, and probably more importantly, I can't find any information on the rigging of the cat. I really need some help on how to and where everything goes. Are there any reliable online resources? Or do I need to be paying someone. Basically, i need to start from scratch with all ropes and wires etc.

I am the kinda person who prefers to do things myself if I can - I don't really have the money to invest in paying someone else to do it for me.

Anyway, hope someone can help me out or point me in the right direction here.

Thanks for your help

Mark

That makes things a bit more dificult.

I am form Newcastle NSW.

2 options with the fibreglass.

1, Light wet and dry with 1000 grit. Polish using a cutting polish called Tru-Grit and an electric buffer with a foam pad then use a polish and a buffing pad.

2, heavy wet and dry with 250-500 girtt, use a singal pack enamal and a small 100mm roller/tray kit. Paint on a warm sunny day.

If you want to talk, call me Mick 0419999785

Thanks for the tips Mick, I'll perhaps see if I can get some photos of the state of the fibreglass and perhaps I could email them to you. Would you be willing to have a look at the images and see what you think would be the best way to go about it?

Thanks for getting back to me!

That's a mighty fine mess you've got there!!

I think: