Second cat ideas please

dynomatt

So I'm still fairly new to this catamaran caper, but my short experience with the Freestyle told me that it is great fun and I want more.

However, the Freestyle didn't have a lot of hull buoyancy and as a result, me and the three kids (14, 12 and 10 and I'm 95kg) made for a pretty challenging sail...beams dragging...hulls submerged etc.

So I want to upgrade and am seeking some feedback.

Based on research, I've narrowed it down to three options:

1) Hobie Getaway

2) Nacra 5.8

3) Hobie 18

All seem to have the size required but the Hobie 18 and Nacra are in different classes to the Getaway.

As it's with the kids, and I've got no intention to race just recreational fun, I'm leaning to the Getaway.

Any thoughts please? Budget is in the $3k-$5k mark which challenges me I suspect.

Thanks,

Matt

hobie getaway = too heavy and plastic yuck

nacra 5.8 = too much boat for a newbie

hobie 18 = probably still too much boat, but would be ok.

i would look into a nacra 5.0 = fast simple plenty of bouyancy, and there is not not much wrong with a hobie 16 for thrashing about on.

Go with a fair H 18 in your budget, v/good bouyancy and carrying capacity, reasonable performance and most importantly, the only large cat with furling headsail. Only drawback with the H18 is the cost of new parts and low availability of good 2nd hand parts. Take, or seek advice on what to look for in whichever boat you decide on, here at this forum, before you commit.